EESL, a shared multi-user research facility, is always seeking and encouraging Penn State faculty to propose new instruments. We are always working on developing and maintaining a prioritized list of instruments for energy and environmental scientists that we highlight for purchase and placement in EESL.

We encourage faculty to send suggestions for instrumentation that would significantly enhance energy and environmental research on campus. The process by which EESL evaluates proposed instruments for purchasing in accordance with the draft process highlighted below.  To recommend purchase of a new instrument, please submit your request and include all the details outlined "Decision Process" outlined below to the attention of Odette Mina, EESL Managing Director,

Proposed New Instruments Decision Process PDF

The EESL advisory committee members are always available for consultation about instrument needs. Our goal is to always have a list of prioritized equipment needs in the area of energy and environmental science that EESL can work with to move toward acquisition.

EESL Advisory Committee

Name Status College Department Title Email
Nathaniel Warner Advisory Committee Chair Engineering Civil & Environmental Engineering Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Charles Anderson Advisory Committee Member Eberly College of Science Biology Associate Professor, Biology
Shirley Clark Advisory Committee Member Penn State Harrisburg Science, Engineering and Technology Professor of Environmental Engineering
Jose Caprilles Advisory Committee Member Liberal Arts Anthropology Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Brendan Culleton Advisory Committee Member IEE EESL Radiocarbon Laboratory Manager
David Eissenstat Advisory Committee Member Agricultural Sciences Ecosystem Science and Management Interim Head and Professor
Jose Fuentes Advisory Committee Member Earth and Mineral Sciences Meterology and Atmospheric Science Professor of Meteorology
Jason Kaye Advisory Committee Member Agricultural Sciences Ecosystem Science and Management Professor of Soil Biogeochemistry
Odette Mina Advisory Committee Member IEE EESL Managing Director, EESL
Tom Richard Advisory Committee Member IEE IEE IEE Director